Today’s dancing lesson

The-Dancing-LessonBecause I haven’t mastered the art of photographing framed artworks without capturing my own reflection in the glass I took this photo before it was framed. It has a very simple black frame, allowing the artwork to centre stage. This is Fifi Colston’s pastel artwork she created in response to Anna Woodford’s poem, Dancing Lesson.

Today (final)Janie Porter created the above artwork (acrylic on canvas) after choosing Billy Collins’s poem, Today, for her exhibition work.  Billy was one of our out-of-town poets who responded to the emailed photo I sent of ‘his’ artwork. He especially liked Janie’s touch with the hammer and shards of glass.

I’m away down to the Gallery now for the afternoon. Laura and Peter Gregory said they’ll be calling in today so I’m looking forward to catching up with them. I’ve already featured Peter’s vase so look out for Laura’s artwork which I’ll post tonight.

This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

